Board of Laity

Board of Laity presentation resourcesThe North Texas Annual Conference
Board of Laity

The Board is charged to:

  • foster an awareness of the role of the laity within the local congregations; and to promote and develop programs to cultivate an adequate understanding of the theological and biblical basis for lay life and work;
  • develop and promote stewardship of time, talent, and possessions;
  • provide for the training of lay members of the annual conference;
  • provide support and direction for the ministry of the Laity on the local, district and annual conference levels and to promote the observation of Laity Sunday;
  • provide organization, direction, and support for the development of local church lay leaders.

2016-2017 Board of Laity

Conference Lay Leader: Jeff Bouis

Conference Lay Leader Elect: Danny Soliz

Associate Conference Lay Leader: Dave Farish

Associate Conference Lay Leader: Ashley Hall

Conf. Council on Youth Ministries Chairperson: Sidney Weidenbach

East District Lay Leader: Stephen Gillem

East District Youth Lay Leader: Cotton Riley

Metro District Lay Leader: Eric Markinson

Metro District Youth Lay Leader: Terrell George

North Central District Lay Leader: Alfred White

North Central District Youth Lay Leader: Sipho Dongozi

Northwest District Lay Leader: Tom Busby

Northwest District Youth Lay Leader: Casey Jones

Conference Director of Lay Servant Ministries: Herman Totten

Conference United Methodist Women President: Mae Alexander

Conference United Methodist Men President: To Be Elected by UMM

Center Director for Leadership Development: Marti Soper

Associate Director for Leadership Development: Becky Hensley

Conference Coordinator for Children, Youth & Young Adult Ministry: Kelly Carpenter

You can reach any member of the Board of Laity by calling the conference office, 972-526-5000 or toll free 800-815-6690.